I'm just a mommy living in a toddlers world

Health Care Reform?

The other day I took my son for his 2 month check up.  I have to tell you that I’m not particularly fond of this doctor’s office.  The staff is very cold and I feel rushed every time I’m there.  I know I should find a new pediatrician for the kids, but I have been lazy.  Truth is I had the best pediatrician before we moved and I’m still heartbroken over having to leave her.

While I was waiting the normal half hour in the exam room for the doctor to arrive, I noticed this sign on the wall:

So let me get this straight, I’m bringing my child in for their well visit, which is described as preventative care.  However, during this visit I am not allowed to bring up any questions or concerns that I have???  This does not make sense to me.  Wouldn’t it be proactive for me to discuss any health issues my child is having so I do not have to drag her back to the doctor’s office again?  It’s hard enough to get my daughter in there once a year.  Last time she broke free from my arms and b-lined for the door, trying to escape.

This sign brings me back to this past winter, when I brought my daughter in for a recheck on her ears.  The poor thing cannot make it through cold season without at least a couple of ear infections.  At the time, she was also having some constipation issues.  The child was deathly afraid to poop.  When the time came for her to go, we would sit in the bathroom and wait.  And wait.  And wait.  Then she would begin to cry, hop off the toilet, and go running through the house bare ass and hide.  This would repeat itself for about an hour or two until finally she would painfully push out a little round meatball.  Not fun.

Since we were already at the doctor’s office I thought it would be an opportune time to ask the doctor about this issue.  Someone had suggested to use Miralax and I wanted to check if this was safe for small children.  I explained the situation to the doctor and received a 10 second response – Yes, it’s okay to give her Miralax.  Great.

A month later, I received a bill in the mail from the doctor’s office for $50.  I called my insurance company thinking it must be a mistake.  They explained that the charge was due to a secondary topic being addressed – Constipation.  Are you kidding me????  If I had known it was going to cost me 50 bucks, I would have fed her a diet of prune juice, baked beans, & brussel sprouts and prayed for a soft turd.

I’ll be quite honest, I don’t know jack shit about the Health Care Reform.  Perhaps I should educate myself on this topic because clearly the $150 we pay for insurance each week is not enough.  They now need to nickel and dime us.

Has anyone else had this issue?  I’m wondering if it just this doctor’s office, or if they all charge now for each “topic” you discuss.

Comments on: "Health Care Reform?" (6)

  1. We recently switched doctor’s offices because of those mysterious charges and their new need to run “tests”, many not covered by our insurance, for every problem. The final straw was when our teenage daughter was having trouble with her shoulder and they wouldn’t refer her to an orthopedic without her having an MRI first. I always thought the orthopedic ordered the MRI if it was needed. We circumvented and got into a doctor without the MRI. Guess what – she didn’t need one.
    It’s unfortunate that you can like a doctor but not be able to stand their “company policy”. I’m much happier with our new quite laid back and practical doctors who run their own office. We can ask him or her anything without having to worry about extra fees. Or a test.

    • I definitely need to start doing my research and find a new doctor’s office. It does seem like the smaller the office, the better the doctors, and the better care you receive.

      • Unfortunately many of the bigger offices are now run by medical companies so they are run more like a business than a health care facility. Good luck in your search. You’ll find what you are looking for!

  2. I would definitely say that these issues are more with your doctor’s office than with your health insurance. What place, that is worth it’s salt, wouldn’t ask you after the physical if you have any concerns and give you the chance to ask. No way in hell would I have paid $50 for him to throw me a one line answer.

    I’ve never dealt with huge doctor’s offices before, I guess that I’m spoiled. But I hope that you can find a place that you feel comfortable with and feel like actually care about your children. 🙂

    • Thanks for your input! I thought this was ridiculous. It’s disappointing that the doctor’s priority is how much money they can make rather than the well being of the child. I’ve started my search for a new pediatrician, so hopefully I’ll find a good one!

      • I hope that you do!!! Good luck with that. I am fortunate enough to have a great doctor’s office, and honestly, I can’t say enough about it. Our pediatrician knows our kids and what is better is that she knows us, she listens to us and she “trusts” us, if that makes sense. I feel like she takes us seriously when we want to tell her something and doesn’t just write our concerns off. It’s great. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

