I'm just a mommy living in a toddlers world

Outsmarted Again!

My daughter has become quite the little wise guy lately.  She’s constantly behaving badly to try to get a rise out of me.  Many of her actions are down right annoying, but every now and then I can’t help but laugh a little.  It reminds me of when my brother and I used to play pranks on my parents, but I think we were a little bit older than her.  This one’s quite crafty for her age.

When I picked her up from daycare the other day she thought it would be funny if she locked me out of the car.  Now she has done this to me before.  When I was late bringing her to gymnastics class.  In the middle of winter.  And it was snowing.  Not funny.

Usually I’ll hoist her little butt up and she’ll climb into her carseat herself.  On this day, I lifted her up into the car, but before I knew it she had hopped into the driver’s seat and slammed the lock down with her chubby little fingers.  I told her to open the door. Her response sounded a little like “Ne, ner, ne, ner, ne, ne” as she started pawing my window with her other hand.

I could tell she wasn’t giving in easily.  I started to go around the car to open the passenger side, but she beat me to it.  Just as I reached for the handle… Slam!…she pressed down the other lock.  That little girl can move fast!

She then started laughing and dancing around.  She was having a grand old time in there.  Beeping the horn, pressing buttons, turning all the knobs.  She had more fun than she does at an amusement park.  Next time I’ll lock her in the car for an hour instead of wasting my money at Chuck E. Cheese.  At least then she won’t contract the plague from some booga-nose kid.

I admit, I did crack a smile at first, but after 10 minutes of chasing her around from side to side, my patience was beginning to wear thin.  Then something devastating happened.  The-Baby-Dropped-His-Binky.

Oh yes, did I fail to mention that the little one was trapped in the car during all of this commotion.  He began screaming at the top of his lungs.  She was still jumping from side to side, bouncing around like a ping-pong ball.  At this point I began shouting out threats:  “If you don’t open this door, no Oreos for you”, “I’m going to give your Slushy Magic away”, “That’s it.  No Dora tonight.”……

Twenty minutes later, we were still in front of the daycare.  All of the parents had come and gone.  I then saw the garage door open and my daycare provider pulling out.  I had an idea.  I told my daughter that she was driving over to get her since she was being so bad and that now she wasn’t going to be able to come home with me tonight.  Okay, this may have been a little mean, but it did the trick.  She caved and finally opened the door.  I was able to give the baby his binky and peace was restored.

The next morning my daycare provider asked. “What happened yesterday?  Why were you outside for so long?”  I replied.” Oh, just Kaiya being Kaiya.”

Comments on: "Outsmarted Again!" (7)

  1. Oh, been there! Kids never run out of surprises for us, do they?

  2. I. AM. NOT. READY. For these advanced parental torture techniques! I was laughing while reading it but I also know I would have been sooooooo annoyed. And to make matters worse? These are exactly the kind of pranks my Husband and his family think are positively hilarious. What if my kid got the annoying trickery gene from them?! I’m toast! Thanks for making me smile. I liked your solution too. . .I don’t think it was too mean all things considered! 🙂

    • It looks like you have a little time left before he begins this type of behavior. She was about 15 months when it started. Use this time wisely- prepare yourself (pretend you’re dealing with a wild animal). They are WAY smarter and faster than you could ever imagine!!! I wish you luck & look forward to reading. 🙂

  3. leftoverrecipes said:

    This would actually have scared me to death. I live in a hot area, and children locked in cars have died (in a frighteningly short time). I NEVER let my kid be in the car in a way that he can lock me out – my car keys are always with me.
    However, my son once succeeded in locking me out of the house when I went to throw out the trash… he opened up quickly though, when he realized he was home alone 😉

    • Thank god it was later in the day when she did this, so it wasn’t that hot out. That is very scary to think about though. Now I physically open my door & leave it open until she’s buckled in. She’s not big enough to pull the door shut- yet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

