I'm just a mommy living in a toddlers world

Let me start off by saying I hate wearing bra pads.  For all of you that do not know what bra pads are, they are pads that nursing moms put in their bras to prevent leaking.  Yes, that is the leaking of breast milk onto clothing that I am referring to.  I know- Yuck!  The package claims that they are “invisible under clothing” and “gently contour for a comfortable fit & natural look”.  They are full of shit.  It’s like wearing a padded coffee filter over your boob.  They are crinkly, bulky, & you can see the round outline of them through your shirt unless you’re wearing an industrial strength bra.  I understand that it is necessary for some nursing moms to wear them all the time if they over produce milk.  I, fortunately, am usually fine without them as long as my son eats often- or so I thought.

Yesterday the little man and I decided to venture out to Target.  I only needed a few things and knew that we would not be gone for long, so I decided to forgo the breast pads.  After all I didn’t want people to be staring at the awful round circle shapes under my shirt.  I did my shopping quickly and then we were on our way back home.  While we were there I had drunk a large Coke, so I was doing the pee-pee dance by the time I got in the door.  I went to the bathroom and as I’m washing my hands I glance in the mirror only to see two large wet spots the size of half dollars on my shirt.  As my 3 year old would say – AWKWARD!  Now I do not know for sure if I started leaking in the store or if it just happened on the ride home.  I’m going to stick with the latter of the two.  Maybe next time I’ll wear the stupid pads.

Comments on: "Should’ve Worn the Bra Pads" (4)

  1. Been there, unfortunately. I have found that the disposable pads are, for me, far less noticeable than the fabric reusable ones. Those are a joke, look like I’m trying to smuggle large, round drink coasters in my bra, which I rarely ever do. 🙂

  2. mommysaidaswearword said:

    Ah this happened to me when I was couch shopping! I wasn’t huge in the milk department, but I managed to leak through a bra, a shirt, a sweater, and a down vest….and I didn’t know it until I got home. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

