I'm just a mommy living in a toddlers world

Brushy, brushy

I’m trying to teach my daughter to have proper hygiene, this means brushing the teeth & washing the face at least twice a day.  This is not the easiest task to do when child is running around the bathroom screaming bloody murder.  So to get her excited about our routine, I have to change things up & make it interesting for her.  I have tried various things.

I bought her Elmo bubblegum toothpaste- she ate it.

I bought her a light up tooth brush- it ended up in the toilet.

I gave her floss- she managed to empty the whole roll in 30 seconds.

I let her put toothpaste on my toothbrush- she squeezed half a tube onto it.  Big mess!

So the other night she was again refusing to let me brush her teeth.  When she saw me putting toothpaste on my toothbrush, she  said “Mommy, I brush you teeth”.  I made a deal with her, if I let you brush mine, you have to let me brush yours.  Sounded fair.  I have to mention that she has been sick with a nasty cold.  So I’m sitting on the floor, she has my toothbrush in hand, just as I open my mouth she lets out a huge sneeze.  Saliva & boogers everywhere!  (including in my mouth- YUCK!)  So disgusting, but I did get her teeth clean and my husband had a good laugh.

Leave a Reply

